Skip to content

It Happened One Night

February 18, 2009

Alexander Andrews: Oh, er, do you mind if I ask you a question, frankly? Do you love my daughter?
Peter Warne: Any guy that’d fall in love with your daughter ought to have his head examined.
Alexander Andrews: Now that’s an evasion!
Peter Warne: She picked herself a perfect running mate – King Westley – the pill of the century! What she needs is a guy that’d take a sock at her once a day, whether it’s coming to her or not. If you had half the brains you’re supposed to have, you’d done it yourself, long ago.
Alexander Andrews: Do you love her?
Peter Warne: A normal human being couldn’t live under the same roof with her without going nutty! She’s my idea of nothing!
Alexander Andrews: I asked you a simple question! Do you love her?
Peter Warne: YES! But don’t hold that against me, I’m a little screwy myself!  

I watched It Happened One Night [1939] for the n-th time last night. And, like every single time before, I laughed till I cried. I can’t believe I’ve never written about this before. The screenplay & dialogue kill me – the sarcasm is funny and cheeky and it ab-so-lute-ly kills me! =) Drives me to insanely high spirits! Peter Warne. Rhett Butler. Clark Gable. Ownage. 😀

Sigh. I’m on a yesteryear-movie rampage now – watched this, Gone With the Wind, A Streetcar Named Desire and Le Notti Di Cabiria between Sunday and now! Hee! 😀

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 10:36 PM

    Where do you get such movies? Can you share DVD’s or maybe make copies if they are torrents u downloaded?

  2. February 19, 2009 6:02 AM

    Dilip –
    Occasionally get them at Burma Bazaar. But mostly, I download them off torrents. And I’ll get you a dvd of old films when I see you next! Probably at the photowalk on 22nd. 😀

  3. February 19, 2009 10:26 AM

    clark gable! *swoons*.

  4. February 19, 2009 6:20 PM

    Damn, I haven’t seen that one yet. Its the first movie to get the Oscar Grand Slam… one of the only three movies ever to get it. *sighs* I want to watch it…

  5. February 19, 2009 10:07 PM

    Su, why no new uploads on YWW?

  6. February 19, 2009 10:10 PM

    N –
    I knowwwww! 😀

    Ajinkya –
    Oh, you should, you should! It’s fan-tas-tic! You’ll love it. 🙂

    Swat –
    I’ve been terribly busy! 😦 YWW will probly see a huge number of photos this weekend. 🙂

  7. February 20, 2009 1:43 AM

    Seri. Ippo nee enna sola vara?

  8. February 20, 2009 2:12 AM

    Gapp –
    Poi padam paaru.

  9. Shrey permalink
    February 20, 2009 5:22 PM

    me knows not a thing about most new movies let alone antique pieces like these :\

    BTW header = awesomeness ….

  10. February 20, 2009 8:42 PM

    Let me know your reaction on street car ! Dont miss frost / nixon pls….

  11. February 20, 2009 8:49 PM

    Shrey –
    This is one film you shouldn’t EVER miss! Watch, watch! And, um, w/ company. 😛 It’ll be fun!

    And thanks! 😀 Image courtesy – Dadar Express. 😛

    Vijay Ganesh –
    I’ve watched all of these films before – they’re among my most favourite! 🙂 Streetcar is a wonderful film – it’s hard for anyone to not like it! And I thought Frost/Nixon was pretty good too – but it’s not a must-watch or anything.

  12. February 23, 2009 6:19 AM

    I really want to see this, ever since it was mentioned in Changeling.

    I caught the start of Gone With The Wind – which I have seen before – on Valentine’s Day, and now I really want to watch it again!

    x
    JAG

  13. February 23, 2009 6:36 AM

    Hi., I loved the acting and dialogues in frost/nixon. i listed some of dialogue i loved in my blog too !

  14. February 23, 2009 6:21 PM

    JAG –
    Watch, watch! You’re going to love it! And Gone With The Wind is epic. In every sense of the word!

    Vijay Ganesh –
    I think the screenplay and acting was pretty good. I’ll check out the dialogues!

  15. February 25, 2009 1:56 PM

    i should get around to watching this movie 🙂

    watched waterloo bridge couple weeks back. AW.

  16. tinanandi permalink
    March 6, 2009 9:16 PM

    oooh, LOVE this movie!
    Classics are just that – CLASSIC!
    Have you watched Casablanca? Another of my absolute favourites!

Leave a Reply

