Skip to content

I Wish I Was Like You, Easily Amused

December 20, 2008

I string words together and they glitter, false and transient, like meteors. Ripples of feeling stir through me and I dream. Faces and colours float up like flotsam, and my lips curve into a smile, the muscles in my face flicker, while I pose with somber dignity before the mirror, unchanging, mummied, almost extinct.

– Sasthi Brata, ‘She And He’

This almost perfectly captures the non-writing phase I’m going through. I’ve lost the temperament to write long and rambling prose. Brevity is my new best friend. Not so good for the wannabe writer, I think. There used to be a point of time, when I used to carefully put down in writing many of the thoughts and conversations I had. I can’t remember when I stopped. Looking at those scores of MS Word documents, I’m surprised at my own diligence. 

Every now and then, an empty vacuum gnaws at my innards and I feel guilty. I want my muse back. Soon. I used to be a fiend for words. Still am. Only, it doesn’t seem to translate into tangible writing. Sloth. Impatience. Excuses.

Title – All Apologies By Nirvana

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2008 6:02 PM

    If our words are like that of the author who you have mentioned..who can say so much in 4 lines..why worry about brevity ?

  2. December 20, 2008 9:41 PM

    Why is it that I nod my head in agreement for the past few posts of your’s? 😐

  3. doubledown permalink
    December 21, 2008 12:42 AM

    I think you’re taking yourself to task for a virtue. Brevity is a good thing as long as it’s eloquent brevity. Brevity didn’t hurt Hemingway. And, of course Shakespeare (I think it was Shakespeare) said “Brevity is the soul of wit.”

    Embrace the terseness, I say.

  4. December 22, 2008 6:13 AM

    its a phase..will pass..like the prose phase did..

  5. December 22, 2008 8:29 PM

    Go with the flow, “Floo” :P, Go with the flow

  6. December 24, 2008 4:33 PM

    This too shall pass away

    Which is true, really.

  7. December 24, 2008 8:39 PM

    brevity should be every writer’s friend. not too many people have the capacity to say what they should (or shouldn’t) in clear, concise language. surrounded as i am by about a hundred wannabe journalists who flounder in a sea of metaphor, it’s good to know that there are people who don’t. 🙂

    incidentally, was just going to blog about something similar. so cool!

  8. December 28, 2008 5:02 PM

    Rambler –
    That’s one way of looking at it. But this man, he’s not brief at all! 🙂 He writes long, esoteric prose that you have to read over [and over] to faintly understand.

    Swat –
    I know the feeling. Similar phases. 🙂

    Doubledown –
    Eloquent brevity. I’m not so sure it’s my particular brand. And Hemingway – For Sale: Baby shoes, never worn. 🙂

    In retrospect, it wasn’t so much the brevity that upset me as much as the indifference.

    Thanks for coming by! 🙂

    Shash & Sharan –
    Yes, it has! Thanks! 😀

    Sharanyan –
    I shall, O wise one! Rofl @ Floo! 😛

    Astrodomine –
    I’m almost consoled. But like Doubledown says, eloquence is the key. Clipped writing, unless masterful, ends up empty and lacking in feeling. Which is what mine does. 😛

    And I read the blog! 😀

Leave a Reply

