Skip to content

Point

October 5, 2008

No hay espacio mรกs ancho que el dolor
No hay universo como aquel que sangra

There is no space wider than that of grief
There is no universe like that which bleeds

Pablo Neruda

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 4:03 AM

    Wow. You know that a point is powerful, beautiful and puts emotion into words when it translates in more than one language.

    x
    JAG

  2. October 6, 2008 8:06 AM

    nice quote..

    but I guess its one of those spaces which can be filled by happiness.

  3. October 6, 2008 11:29 PM

    or whisky.

  4. October 6, 2008 11:56 PM

    You do realize you gotta credit me every time you quote Neruda? :p

    And if Neruda interests you, try Gabriel Garcia Marquez, if you can get really Clever Metaphors ie. Or try Kafka. Kafka should Interest you, if he hasn’t already! ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. October 8, 2008 9:15 AM

    JAG –
    Absolutely. Translations can never ever do justice, but this one’s managed to almost get there!

    Rambler –
    It’s not always that one wants happiness. That makes sense to me, but probably not to you. :confused:

    venkster –
    Heh. I have a feeling a consensus would declare whiskey more preferable than happiness. Lmao.

    Kar –
    Oh PLEASE! Just because I learned of him from you?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Your credits are done with that first post. Meh.

    I started reading Kafka at 16, I think. And yep, Marquez too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. October 8, 2008 10:07 AM

    1)
    “I am nothing but the empty net which has gone on ahead
    of human eyes, dead in those darknesses,
    of fingers accustomed to the triangle, longitudes
    on the timid globe of an orange.

    I walked around as you do, investigating
    the endless star,
    and in my net, during the night, I woke up naked,
    the only thing caught, a fish trapped inside the wind.”

    2)
    ” Everything on the earth bristled, the bramble
    pricked and the green thread
    nibbled away, the petal fell, falling
    until the only flower was the falling itself.
    Water is another matter,
    has no direction but its own bright grace,
    runs through all imaginable colors,
    takes limpid lessons
    from stone,
    and in those functionings plays out
    the unrealized ambitions of the foam. ”

    My favourite Neruda verses

    I LOVE the way Neruda writes. Passionate poetry. Period.

  7. October 8, 2008 12:00 PM

    Niths –
    ๐Ÿ˜€ Sold.

    Passionate, poignant, fluid and sensual. He kills me.

    I want to eat the sunbeam flaring in your lovely body,
    The sovereign nose of your arrogant face,
    I want to eat the fleeting shade of your lashes,
    And I pace around hungry, sniffing the twilight,
    Hunting for you, for your hot heart,
    Like a puma in the barrens of Quitratue.

    From Neruda’s Sonnet XI.

  8. October 8, 2008 5:55 PM

    What the?? Unfair!

    Don’t you keep thanking Eden endlessly for introducing Corn Florentine in your life??? :O

  9. October 8, 2008 6:13 PM

    Have you watched Il Postino Su ? I presume you did read this week’s “Venus fly trap” by Sharanya Manivannan ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. October 8, 2008 6:55 PM

    oh i love this. now i’m spending much time googling it.

  11. October 9, 2008 10:37 PM

    Kar –
    What endlessly thanking Eden?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Niths –
    Uh, no I don’t get IE at home. And yes, I watched Il Postino a while back. I was VERY moved. [Nostalgic.] ๐Ÿ™‚

    astrodominie –
    Oh, yay! Another Neruda fiend in the making, I hope. ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. October 10, 2008 4:38 PM

    Where do you get such movies from ? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The DVD store near my place houses no good movies AT ALL ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  13. October 11, 2008 6:57 AM

    Niths –
    Local DVD stores are NO good in Madras as well. Usually, I’m a torrent fiend – and download about 80% of the films I watch. [Not exactly a good thing, but you could try. ๐Ÿ˜› ]

    Il Postino was in a compilation DVD that a very good friend made me. Otherwise, Ritchie Street/ Burma Bazaar here stock everything you might possibly ever want to watch! No place like that in Cbe?

  14. October 12, 2008 1:07 PM

    I use the BSNL 250 plan Su. Parents won’t let me have this unlimited-download plan. So downloading movies is ruled out ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Umm.. there is no Burma-Bazaar-like street in Cbe ๐Ÿ˜

  15. October 12, 2008 6:09 PM

    Niths –
    Aiyo, that’s awful! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ May be when you make it to Madras sometime, we can go movie-shopping! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Nithya Sivashankar permalink
    October 14, 2008 5:28 AM

    We’ll do that ! We’ll do that ! We’ll do that ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

