Skip to content

Google Chrome!

September 3, 2008

Just as I was giving up on new Google products, the guys there come up with Chrome. Sleek, minimalist with no unnecessary toolbars and thingums, very very usable and of course, I love it! 😀 D/l-ed it this morning and was instantly impressed after about three minutes of use.

I like:

  1. The page that appears whenever you open a new tab [which, btw, opens in a very cool way] with all these boxes showing you the most visited pages.
  2. The Incognito Window! Pages you browse here don’t appear on History or leave traces on your computer. 😛
  3. No status bar, unless I want it.
  4. [Update] It’s awesome how you can drag tabs out to make new windows or put new windows as tabs on the tab bar of already existing windows. Yay!
All that said, Firefox is still my default browser. 😛
[Update] Firefox over Chrome:
  1. Optional warning when you close multiple tabs. i NEED this, cos I accidentally alt+F4 instead of ctrl+W quite a lot. And it’s annoying when hazaar tabs get lost.
  2. Firefox 3.0 has ‘Save & Quit’ when you close the browser. Though the Recently Closed Tabs section when you open a new window helps, it’s not quite as comfortable when there are many, many tabs.
28 Comments leave one →
  1. s w a t permalink
    September 3, 2008 1:16 PM

    I am so in love with Firefox after struggling with IE for more than 6 years. Time to try Chrome. What say?

  2. September 3, 2008 1:16 PM

    Same same. 🙂

  3. September 3, 2008 1:44 PM

    When did u start blogging about tech ?

  4. September 3, 2008 2:58 PM

    Swat –
    IE, meh. 😮 I seem to have erased all those years of IE from my head. All I can remember is Firefox love. 😀

    And yes, give Chrome a shot – it’s awesome!

    Amrit –
    Heh. 😀

    Dilip –
    Er, I don’t blog about tech TECH. Just about things I use – like my cam, or reader, or Chrome. And it’s usually some small post. 😛

    And I’d forgotten to tag this tech – your comment reminded me!

  5. September 3, 2008 5:10 PM

    should try this one…chrome

  6. Sharan permalink
    September 3, 2008 8:00 PM

    Whatever happened to your blog background?! I mean, I KNOW you’ve changed it, but why?! Is this a new WP template or something?

  7. September 3, 2008 8:12 PM

    Rambler –
    Do!

    Sharan –
    Yep, this is a new WP template. I’m feeling all floaty and pastel colours, so changed it! 🙂

    I do miss the header image, so MIGHT change back.

  8. September 3, 2008 9:24 PM

    me too! and it works great on my 128 mb antique 😛

    the crash control feature! – much needed

    and heh , did you check out their reasons for incognito

    “For times when you want to browse in stealth mode, for example, to plan surprises like gifts or birthdays” 😛

  9. September 3, 2008 10:43 PM

    whattay beauty! i likes….. and yes….. google has been shitting up for a while,so a well deserved change!

  10. September 3, 2008 10:52 PM

    Well, tried Chrome too.. but the opening window with the most visited pages/favs is actually inspired from opera…though just an inspiration.. opera shows up bookmarks, like speed dials kinda thing.. you open up a fresh tab and there are these neatly laid boxes of those you’ve marked for speed access… that’s useful.. but yeah, liking Chrome.. i wna try Silver Light too! 😀

  11. September 3, 2008 11:13 PM

    N –
    Ah, yep. Forgot crash control – haven’t had dire need of it in the past!

    Heh, the google chaps are always a lil tongue-in-cheek. Not to forget Surveillance by secret agents and People standing behind you! 😛

    Vaish –
    Yay, me too!

    Kar –
    Never been on Opera, so dinno. 🙂 I just google-ed Silver Light, so… 😛

  12. September 3, 2008 11:25 PM

    bah, chrome is just an opera wannabe. naext..

  13. September 4, 2008 3:24 PM

    spake too hastily. damn thing takes up 47.5 MB. gah

  14. September 4, 2008 5:21 PM

    PM –
    Can’t say, never been on Opera. 😐

    N –
    🙂 Heh. It takes up a lot more memory that Firefox – roughly 50-60% more I guess. But unlike, Firefox it doesn’t stall while opening multiple tabs or playing media in the background.

  15. September 4, 2008 9:11 PM

    Downloaded this browser five minutes back and I am loving this 🙂

    Go Chrome !

  16. September 6, 2008 11:12 PM

    @ planemad. bah! opera is just plain wannabe. never ever will it parallel to firefox!

  17. September 7, 2008 8:12 PM

    eeek! i just changed my theme to the same one you’ve got, AND i wrote about google chrome too [just not in as much detail]!

    what’re the odds?

  18. September 8, 2008 6:20 AM

    Niths –
    Still loving it? Cos we [chrome & I] are having some issues! 😦

    Astrodominie –
    Come to think of it – this is a PERFECT theme for you – all pastel shades and happiness! 😀

    The odds? Oh, pshaw! You know what they say about great minds. 😛

  19. September 8, 2008 11:18 AM

    Chromed! Lovin’ it! And I miss your header too, though ever since you said pastel-y, I’ve liked this one 🙂

  20. September 11, 2008 9:32 PM

    Actually, after using Chrome for a week or so, I dont think its anything spectacular. FF still remains friendlier. 🙂

  21. September 12, 2008 6:29 AM

    Sharan –
    Aw, I miss my header too! But this is happy! 😀

    Abhi –
    Yep, me too. It’s not so much about friendly – I find it pretty comfortable. Just that FF is still smoother. 🙂

  22. September 14, 2008 1:18 PM

    Firefox? Has you heard of ze browser called FLOCK? Yeniways, cool blog theme. I am totally out of sync. No idea what Google or wordpress is upto these days.

  23. September 14, 2008 5:34 PM

    Gapp-
    Flock, yeah. Last I heard from you it was crashing all over your Mac. 😛

    And it’s good to be out of sync for a while – hey, at least you got a life in the bargain!

  24. Nithya Sivashankar permalink
    September 15, 2008 9:27 PM

    Su, am back to using Firefox ! Don’t know why ! I find Mozilla more comfortable now 😐

  25. September 25, 2008 4:00 AM

    i am getting an error while installing chrome.. searched hell lotza help pages with no use! does that ring any bells to u?

  26. September 25, 2008 8:33 AM

    Sawan –
    Sorry, no bells ringing. What sort of error is this? I don’t remember getting any during install!

  27. September 29, 2008 8:49 PM

    i love chrome! though i wish the bookmarks came in a separate side-bar list thing. like i don’t want them all listed out on top.

  28. September 30, 2008 6:37 AM

    astrodominie –
    Oh, but they do! The top bar is only for what you want to have there. When you bookmark pages, you can choose what folder they go into and they appear under an ‘Other Bookmarks’ drop-down at the end of the top bar.

    That make any sense? 🙂

Leave a Reply

