Skip to content

Jaane Tu…Ya Jaane Na!

August 2, 2008

I finally watched the movie last night. Everyone’s been telling me how great it is and all that! Through the first half hour or so, I just gaped, wondering if all my friends had totally forgotten what great meant. Besides the fact they quite raucously massacred one of my favourite Kishore Da songs, it was all so squealy and ugh. And then the movie happened. By the end of which, I was smiling and singing Jaaaaaaane Tu…Ya Jaaaane Naaaa! Out of tune. πŸ™‚ It’s typical, it’s clichΓ©d, it’s a larger-than-life-it-can-never-happen-to-you love story and I didn’t throw up at the end of it. In fact, I quite like it! πŸ˜€

Aditi [Genelia] is highly volatile, overacts and as is normal, I can’t stand her [except in a few scenes]. Jai [Imran Khan] is absolutely charmant – complete w/ an endearing smile that crinkles the corners of his eyes! Aww. Cuteness!

A lot of characters stay w/ you though they aren’t a big part of the plot – Amit [Prateik Babbar], Inspector Waghmare [Paresh Rawal], Amar Singh Rathore [Naseeruddin Shah, duh!] and Savitri [Rathna Pathak Shah, who is one of the best on-screen mums and arguably the best character in the film!] πŸ˜€

From the film:

Aditi: College ke paanch saal kahaan nikal gaye, pata hi nahi chala.

Savitri: Phone pe, beta, phone pe.

Ah, truth. πŸ™‚

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2008 10:07 AM

    There’s one scene where Nasiruddin shah smiles when Jai comes home with a black eye..that was hilarious …
    as for as the movie..din’t like it too much.. πŸ™‚

  2. Murali Krishnan permalink
    August 2, 2008 10:56 AM

    Rotlu was the best on-screen character!! πŸ˜€

  3. August 2, 2008 1:33 PM

    Music was awesome too! πŸ˜€
    And you wouldn’t really know about that phone part would you?? πŸ˜›

  4. August 2, 2008 2:31 PM

    @Rambler:
    Naseeruddin Shah is inimitable. =) And re: movie, you like it or you don’t, no intermediates I guess! πŸ™‚

    @MKT:
    WHAT. 😐

    @Kar:
    Music was alright, cos I didn’t fall in love w/ the album, just a couple of songs. Was good for BGM. πŸ˜›

    And re: phone, YES I WOULD KNOW. 😐

  5. August 2, 2008 7:07 PM

    You just put up my most favourite bollywood quote πŸ˜€

  6. August 3, 2008 9:17 AM

    “Savitri [Rathna Pathak Shah, who is one of the best on-screen mums and arguably the best character in the film!]”

    Yes yes yes !!! I loved her in the movie as well πŸ™‚ Did you like those dimwitted Khan brothers in the movie ? Horrible cowboy-costume wearing clowns 😐

    P. S : I personally didnt like the movie. Imraan Khan is definitely good πŸ™‚

  7. August 3, 2008 9:51 AM

    @Sharan:
    Heh. πŸ˜€

    @Niths:
    Khan bros = nuisance value. πŸ˜› And I guess, more than the movie [which is very ordinary], I liked the way the characters were filled out – esp. the ones I mentioned. So that made it worthwhile for me. And ofc, Imran Khaaaaan! πŸ˜€

  8. August 5, 2008 1:51 AM

    i was wondering what everyone was raving about so i went to catch it myself..
    that imran khan is one delicious piece of work..seriously!

  9. August 5, 2008 6:51 AM

    @lemonade:
    Amen! πŸ˜€

  10. August 6, 2008 4:33 PM

    Hey girl,

    I posted those links on my post for your favourite-ing pleasure!

    x
    JAG

  11. August 7, 2008 10:40 PM

    After seeing the movie, i fell in love with “Nazreen milana” song. i liked the first half of the movie than the second half.

  12. Javits permalink
    August 8, 2008 3:53 AM

    I like the song Kabhi Kabhi Aditi. And thats about it.

  13. Javits permalink
    August 8, 2008 3:54 AM

    Oh yeah, i did like the dialogue you mentioned here. πŸ™‚

  14. August 8, 2008 9:08 AM

    @Vijay Ganesh:
    That song was great in context w/ the movie. πŸ™‚

    @Javits:
    Yay, me too!

  15. August 10, 2008 6:12 PM

    boohoo. i’ve watched almost every single movie [some twice over] but this one. bad timing.

  16. August 13, 2008 7:50 PM

    But Pappu can’t dance, saala!

  17. August 13, 2008 10:15 PM

    @astrodominie:
    Aww. Catch it, if only for Imran Khan! πŸ˜€

    @Vi:
    πŸ˜€

  18. October 14, 2008 1:17 PM

    I saw this movie and was reminded of two idiot friends who did the same shit going around. I loved this movie like hell, probably because of the personal connections i guess. I saw on thiruttu DVD and now i wanna see in theatre.

  19. December 30, 2008 9:04 AM

    yeah, I LOVED Savitri. That’s the kind of mom I want to be if I decide to have kids. Seeing strong, principled, ethical, independent women as mothers (well, at all, really) in Bollywood is incredibly refreshing.

Leave a Reply

