Skip to content

Twilight

July 16, 2008

I have a thing for falling in love w/ men who are dark, brooding, alluring and enigmatic. Which girl wouldn’t, right? Oh, I forgot to mention that they’re also all fictional.

And this time it’s Edward Cullen. Compelled by Sharan’s fervent recommendations on her blog [I’ve known her to have good taste], I bought Twilight by Stephenie Meyer at Odyssey last weekend. I read the blurb at back of the book and a few sentences from the middle as I usually do before buying works of any unexplored authors. I was instantly tempted to buy all three released volumes of the series [Twilight, New Moon & Eclipse] – but I, um, had/have an acute shortage of funds. I’m just praying for someone to be really, really nice to me!

So I began reading Twilight last night, and well, continued reading until I finished the book in a single sitting – at about 4 this morning. After that, I can deeply empathise w/ Sharan’s obsessive-compulsive-ness over Edward & the series. Sigh. Gotta love Meyer. 🙂

Anyway, I can’t wait for the fourth book, Breaking Dawn to come out this August. AND the Twilight movie. Starring Robert Pattinson. The guy looks so good, it’s almost indecent. Not to mention unfair. And as Edward? Sigh.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2008 6:01 PM

    AHHHHHHHHH!!!! Hyper-happiness! Cheers to spreading the Twilight joy! Oh and gee, thanks! I’ve always known YOU to have super taste, lady. Exotica, remember? *grin!*

    It’s so WEIRD, Pattinson looked almost normal in the Goblet of Fire..and he looks, like you said, indecently handsome here. it’s sinful, really. ARGHH, so what if he’s not, you know, one of US?

    PS: I’m sorry about the all the excessive caps, I haven’t figured out the italics here. And I really, really hope you get the other two soon.

  2. July 16, 2008 10:35 PM

    Somebody WAS trying to be nice to you! 😛

  3. July 17, 2008 6:38 AM

    @Sharan:
    Yay! 😀 Though Twilight isn’t a perfect book – the intense characterization makes up for a lot of it!

    And I remember Exotica. I was so amused when you first said it! 😀

    Re: Italics, you need to use HTML tags in the comment box. But that’s painful if you aren’t used to it – so the caps is just fine. 🙂

    @Kar:
    Um, I know, I know. But I really couldn’t! Totally. 😛 Besides, what about the London Dairy? 😀

  4. July 17, 2008 10:42 AM

    Have never read these, but after reading your review am planning on getting all three for the weekend 😀

  5. hasita86 permalink
    July 17, 2008 4:30 PM

    If you like book about vampires like this, I recommend Olga Gromyko’s two books about witch, which help one handsome vampire 🙂 this book has a good sense of humour. 😉

  6. July 17, 2008 7:12 PM

    @CR:
    😀 It’s essentially fluff w/ vampires and tingly sequences thrown in. I think you might enjoy it!

    And all three? 😦 Lucky bum!

    @hasita86:
    Thanks, I’ll check that out!

  7. July 17, 2008 10:52 PM

    Hmm.. Why did u do the night out to finish the book as if some one is going to flick the book from you 🙂

  8. hasita86 permalink
    July 19, 2008 3:38 PM

    No problem.

    btw. I hope so, that “Twilight” film will be better than book 😀 much more dark… Vampires more like human, this can’t be. Where is the secret of being a vampire!?

  9. August 5, 2008 10:19 AM

    I hear ya, girl. I’m just about to head down to my local Borders to check it out!!

    I picked all the wrong times to start reading the books. My friend got me onto the Twilight around the time I had an assignment due, same with New Moon (bloody essays!) and then, of course, she gave me Eclipse for my birthday – during the exam period! Needless to say, I finished them off pretty quickly. And then started all over again. My advice would be to find a friend who has the books and beg, borrow or steal. Preferably not the latter.

    Who wouldn’t fall in love with Edward Cullen, fictional or otherwise? btw, have you seen this facebook group? It kind of sums up my life: Fictional, famous, & handsome men give me unreasonable expectations. ♥ (I blogged about it.)

    And you might like this one: After Reading Twilight, Humans Boys Just Seem Lacking.

    x
    JAG

  10. August 5, 2008 9:27 PM

    @JAG:
    Lol. Happens to the best of us. I really can’t tell, because I’m reading all the time and my mum’s a little fed up of having to remind me that I also have to study. 😛

    And nobody I know has the books! 😦 Friends are reading off e-books, which I totally don’t want to do.

    After Reading Twilight, Humans Boys Just Seem Lacking.
    Amen. 😛

  11. August 6, 2008 4:38 PM

    I, er, won’t rub it in, but I actually have the book!! Yay! Just bought it today. 😀

    Hope it’s all it’s cracked up to be.

    x
    JAG

Leave a Reply

