Skip to content

Madras Nalla Madras

June 1, 2008

After about 2500 kms driven all over the place, some abs beautiful places seen, I’m back home now after a good long vacation – from Madras heat and Internet.

Visited a lot of South India, which of course means, I visited a lot of temples. It’s impossible to go anywhere in Tamil Nadu and NOT find a temple that place is famous for. But anyway, it was good fun cos I somehow like temples. What I do not like is that most temples have a ‘Only hindus can enter beyond this point’ signboard. AND they charge foreigners for just entering the temple. AND you get packets of vibhuthee and kumkum only if you offer more than Rs.10 to the pujari. Vile! ๐Ÿ˜

The 15-year-tradition of a week at Kodai is generally somewhat bland, for lack of things we haven’t done in said fifteen years. But this year was unusually rotten. I’m to be blamed though. This time, I didn’t do my whole making-a-list-and-crossing-stuff-off thing and did all my packing for 10 days in some two hours. Obviously, I forgot three crucial things – 1. Socks 2. Leave in conditioner/serum 3. Anorak. Horrors! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Cos 1. I simply detest wearing sneakers w/o socks 2. W/o my serum, my hair gives tough competition to thenga naaru 3. JUST this time it was very bloody cold in Kodai and raining every freakin’ day! Still, thankfully I somehow managed by flicking my mum’s socks and dad’s windbreaker. ๐Ÿ˜› Lesson: Worship Lists. Lists. Lists. Lists.

Anyhoo, coming back home never felt so good. What w/ the tremendous rain we had to drive through from Trichy to Chengalpet. Phew. Mind blasting. Headlights on high beam, windshield wipers furiously swinging and yet zero visibility. We literally couldn’t see the road in front of us. Part of the way wasn’t dual carriage, so it was pretty damn scary. But when you’re not in the driver’s seat and water’s lashing at your window, when you can see huge bolts of lightning cut purple through the black skies, it really is amazing. ๐Ÿ˜€

Got back home all exhausted, watched IPL semis and went to bed at some 12. Not realizing that today I had to wake up at some unearthly hour and go to my cousin’s engagement. Bah. Gimme sleep or gimme soporifics. I caught some 6-hours of sleep after the engagement. But when I woke up, something was super-wrong. I couldn’t move, I couldn’t speak, I couldn’t breathe and I was burning. I hate colds and fevers. Then I realized, I couldn’t see either. But that was cos I didn’t have my glasses. And then, my sis peers at me and says – ‘Yeow! You look like shit.’ Gah. Thanks a lot, H. Just what I needed! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2008 8:23 PM

    that sounds like a fun road trip…

  2. June 1, 2008 9:38 PM

    Boy, I’m glad you’re back..

  3. June 1, 2008 11:35 PM

    Typical things that a girl would whine about ๐Ÿ˜‰ Pics? Pics? Pics?

  4. June 2, 2008 12:31 AM

    Hope you did enjoy rowing at the boat club?Ain’t it fun when you drive through the rains..Hope you are feeling better now?Cheers!!!

  5. June 2, 2008 8:11 AM

    I understand all about being quite the blind bat without glasses ๐Ÿ™‚ I miss Madras ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. June 2, 2008 8:42 AM

    @Rambler:
    It was! ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Sharan:
    Hee, so am I!

    @Dilip:
    Typical, yeah. Girls will be girls. ๐Ÿ™‚ And pics will take a lil time. This week full tight! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    @The Pseudonym:
    Yep, rowing is another tradition at Kodai. Awesome fun! And I’m feeling much better, thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Schmetterling:
    Heh. Myopia’s sometimes a blessing though. ๐Ÿ™‚ And sigh, no place like Madras. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. June 2, 2008 10:23 PM

    Hey.. dont you like to be busy or having tight schedule? By the way, socks blues might give heavy headache., so turn it off ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. June 8, 2008 9:52 PM

    missed you girl!!!

    anyhoo. now that ure back, we have a LOT of plans to execute. College has started; Bummer

    oh and someones back here for another three weeks

    sumo:ewog’ag’qdghqt rgf cx cv klolololololololololololololololololo

    Call

  9. June 18, 2008 6:08 PM

    I have seen both types of discrimination – in some temples, they refuse entry to foreigners or charge them more. In others, they treat foreigners like honored guests, perform special archanas, garland them and so on…why can’t people just treat everyone the same? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  10. Harish Ganesh permalink
    June 27, 2008 12:18 AM

    @ the post

    Yes. I agree with that fact that ‘No hindus beyong this point’ board is a sign of reliegion and non rational thinking catching up in the 21st century. Lets not get into the philosophical details of that. These shortisighted cultural saviours demonstrate what a’True Hindu is’. They neither understand their reliegion nor their art and succumb to the peer pressure to act, which I think is not the need of the hour.

    And..

    Whats Vile about that Pujari?

    Dear, you left Madras in a Fiesta, to go all around Tamil Nadu on a vacation, staying in Hotels with time to do nothing but think and form opinions, talking with parents about IPL, Classical Music, and the food you ate. You then reached that temple and then here you are to write a Blog about Serum and Socks and not to forget the temples and pujari. No offense but truth. Even I am prone to do this as we all are people who travel for leisure. I wonder How, if we were to feature in somone else’s leisure with our routines, vile would it be?

    But he needs to survive, perhaps to plan on his version of a vacation, and help himself to see people who visit him in the temple, who are no different but only misplaced from him.
    He has his own struggle in the society about which I dont want to comment. I meant the society. I dont find any vileness in this. Read while the light is On.

    Assumption: U were not talking about one of those ‘bourgeois’ temples where niether faith nor art is present, but a bunch of lazy rich onlookers and invertebrate entertainers. In that case, ‘PLEASE DONT GO THERE’

    NOTE: I am still wondering Why the hell did I post my comment… Pointless right
    lol…. I am sorry If i was harsh. I dint want to not post after typing so much CHeers

  11. June 27, 2008 6:36 AM

    @Harish:
    I should’ve qualified ‘Vile’ better, because I didn’t mean it to describe the pujari. I meant it for the fact that you get prasadam only if you offer Rs.10 or more. Though, prasadam is only a physical manifestation of ‘God’s blessing’ that we’ve created for ourselves, there are people who place enormous value on it by extension of the enormous faith they have in the deity. No offence, but I probably have a minuscule percentage of that faith. And yet I get a packet of prasadam that I hardly value as opposed to that person who places much more store by it. All because he sometimes can’t afford Rs.10. That’s what irks me.

    But again, I’ve stepped into abstracts. Argh, I’m hopeless. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    And you really think appa will take me to ‘bourgeois’ temples uh? ๐Ÿ˜› They drive him crazy!

  12. Harish permalink
    June 27, 2008 11:00 AM

    Yeah I dint know that….

    lol

    Arandavan kannukku irududha ellam pei…

    Perhaps I always think about VIle and it manifests in what i read… lol

    cheers

Leave a Reply

