Skip to content

Back From Limbo

May 18, 2008

I know beginning of holidays is supposed to send you into throes of ecstasy and whatnot, but really, it hasn’t been very ecstasy-affording yet. But I’m going to blame all that on the heat. Since we don’t have the luxury of soaking in bathtubs brimming over w/ lil cubes of ice, we have taken to running the A/C compulsively. An extremely indirect consequence of this was that I ended up slicing my right index finger on the moving blades of my ceiling fan. No how’s. I’m a klutz and that’s that. Now every time I apply slight pressure w/ that index finger on a surface, I feel like I have a resonating tuning fork inside it. ๐Ÿ˜ Gah.

Anyhoo, last few days have been completely crazy. I’m leaving on a South India trip this Wednesday that’s culminating in the traditional stay at Kodai. And while we’re away, our home is getting several new coats of paint. Which, of course, means that everything in the house is being stuffed into bulging cartons and the whole place is generally getting a good dusting down.

We’re also giving away our faithful, custom-made study-table-cum-shelves which have been w/ us for over a decade now. *Sniff* There’s this particular shelf which hasn’t been cleaned out for half a decade now. With much trepidation, I opened the door and promptly started sneezing which, well, just spread the dust even more. I like disorder, but dust and grime I cannot handle. Ugh. I found in this shelf mammoth acad books that I’d used once upon a time – Resnick & Halliday/Morrison & Boyd/Irodov – many memories of sleepless nights well spent. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m torn b/w keeping them and giving them away. Also I found a big bunch of bus tickets from my school days and a couple of seedy yellow tickets to Satyam Cinemas priced at 60 bucks. And to think now we spend double for the same. Bah!

I think all this massive cleaning spree is good after all. There are many things I’m discovering that I hardly remember. For instance, I’ve had collections of miniature liquor bottles, badges/pins, clothing tags/labels and bus tickets. I also found a diary that I kept when I was about 12 or 13 and I must confess, my writing was quite appalling at the time. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

In other news, I watched Horton Hears A Who – lots of laughs, but I kind of think I’ve outgrown cute elephants that can do cool stuff w/ their ears.

Also check out today’s v.cool Google Doodle for the 125th Birthday of Walter Gropius. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2008 5:17 PM

    hey dont get rid of the books..am sure you will not regret it

  2. May 19, 2008 8:49 PM

    I still love reading ‘Exodus’ with the crumbling yellow pages though I have another brand new copy of it!
    Thats a different feel!

  3. May 19, 2008 9:32 PM

    Yeah, don’t get rid of them..I still have mine, though they’re not of MUCH use except when I have frenzied attacks of crazy love for physics or just nostalgia.

    Now, KEEP blogging and don’t run off again! I HAVE missed reading here!

  4. May 20, 2008 6:19 PM

    @Rambler:
    Yep, I’ve kept them. ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Narain:
    Heh. I can identify w/ that sentiment! ๐Ÿ˜€ Which is why the Sony PRS isn’t a craze w/ me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Sharanya:
    =) As for the running off, Tallulah Bankhead said Itโ€™s the good girls who keep diaries; the bad girls never have the time. And that might be the case w/ me for quite a few more times to come. ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. May 26, 2008 12:11 PM

    big bunch of bus tickets from my school days

    In memory of whom did you collect them?

  6. May 29, 2008 10:14 PM

    @sheky:
    In memory of no one. Just caught my fancy to collect bus tickets then. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

