Skip to content

McD In Madras!

April 6, 2008

So, I finally got to check out McD @ Ascendas. I got there at 8 and by the time my cousin, sister & I managed to get to the counter, we’d been pushed around hazaar times, come this close to being spilt coke on at least thrice and drenched in sweat! 😛 Photos follow!

The insane, insane, INSANE crowd just outside McD. This crowd is 10 times what KFC had at its peak when it was newly opened!

Sumit. Hilarious guy @ the counter. He & another guy would keep conversing rapidly in Hindi all the time. The other guy made out our order and I realized that he’d given us a burger & fries extra. Being the wonderful person I am, I though I should return it. So:

Me [To Sumit]: Hello? [No reply] Excuse me! Boss! Bhaiya! [Still no reply!] SUMIT!
Him: WTF!

And while he’s recovering from that, a boy comes and says, “Uncle! I need more ketchup. And tissues also uncle!”

Sumit: WTF! WTF! WTF!
Much amusement.

And Ze Food-ness! 😀

Shrey & I stuffing our faces. Yummylicious! 😛

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Balaji permalink
    April 6, 2008 11:41 PM

    Do you think that ppl wait in queue for the taste? I feel it’s for the style statement and the brand name….

  2. April 7, 2008 12:05 AM

    mcdonalds is overrated.

  3. April 7, 2008 12:06 AM

    Well, trickled here from Twitter.. McDonald’s, Chennai has the Brand-name thing going on for it..

    I did go there.. Ain’t as tasty as they look.. (or maybe it was me :P)
    I couldn’t get them McChicken or Maharaja Mac’s (Big Mac sounds waaayy much better).. Thanks to the crowd :).. Ended up getting those weak Mexican(!) Wraps.. Believe me, they’re pretty much selling out to people who may have never tasted Mexican food.. Fries were decent

    And the end of the day.. Reason for the Crowd – Indian Mindset..

    “Anything cheap by even 5-10 bucks is a pretty good deal(!!)..”

    P.S: Nice blog.. Btw, Proupiter sounds a bit cheeky though 😛

  4. April 7, 2008 7:51 AM

    @Balaji:
    More than style and all that, Madras is McD-starved. A month later, you won’t find the crowd so bad! 😛

    @venkster:
    Amen. 🙂

    @Mohammed Ameen:
    The time we went, the wraps were all sold out! McD’s very yum, but hey, Burger Man is just as good. IMHO, that is! 😛

    And McD is pretty expensive! 😮 Frankly, if it wasn’t two minutes from my home, I would go very, very occasionally!

    ProJupiter’s cheeky?! Whyyyyy!

  5. April 7, 2008 9:40 AM

    you too su?! what the hell is so gr8 in McD? i mean i used to eat out there almost everyday when i was in Jakarta!

  6. April 7, 2008 9:42 AM

    @shills:
    Nothing. Except the Fillet-o-fish, which I anyway can’t eat anymore. 😛 Like I said, it’s all the Madras-McD-starved-ness! And the initial rush of it being here! 😛

  7. Sagaro permalink
    April 7, 2008 10:33 AM

    Baka

  8. April 7, 2008 5:06 PM

    Hmm.. I personally prefer the burgers at gallopin gooseberry. But, nothing to beat KFC chicken in the city.

  9. April 7, 2008 5:09 PM

    wow, fun and happy days,thanks

  10. kausik permalink
    April 7, 2008 5:30 PM

    dudette!! whats with the tags? girlfirends? 😮

  11. wavesnsands permalink
    April 7, 2008 6:22 PM

    Haha, Goa is McD starved too!! Theres even an orkut community demanding their branded presence 😉
    Yeah i think it is over-rated too, but I want to go to one first in Goa and then make that wise statement..

  12. April 7, 2008 6:26 PM

    @Sagaro:
    The Enlightened One. 😛

    @Da Rodent:
    I haven’t eaten burgers at Gallopin’ Gooseberry. So sue me. And I hate KFC chicken. Sue me double. 😛

    @M.Al’ Amin:
    Indeed!

    @Kausik:
    Er, girlfriends refers to MY girl buddies. In this post, my cousin & sister. 😛

    @wavesnsands:
    I just did that. 😛 And Goa doesn’t have McD? Surprised!

  13. April 7, 2008 7:20 PM

    Lol, worstu crowd…everybody mite’ve thought they were giving out osi ladoos.. 😛
    And remember, In case of any Xtra food, pliss be reminded of my Vettiness! 😛

  14. April 7, 2008 7:55 PM

    Gurl!.. McD’s expensive?? Compare that to KFC, Marrybrown,etc..
    BurgerMan? U mean the ones near Spencer’s daily’s(?).. I seriously cant get myself to try that out – The fear of bad taste drives me away 😛 ..

    2 minutes from ur home? Gawd, ur lucky :)..

    And about the cheeky part – Just wanted to irritate u 😛

    I think ur using the word “Jupiter”, to convey the message that ur “Jovial”..
    Makes perfect sense.. Cool Name.

  15. sahabat88 permalink
    April 7, 2008 8:59 PM

    yummy…good luck
    keepsmile>/a>:D
    thanks

  16. April 8, 2008 5:40 PM

    @Kar:
    This crowd is half of what was there. I couldn’t get the rest. 😛 And yes, shall remember thy vettiness!

    @Mohammed Ameen:
    Trust me, Burger Man stuff is goooot! 😀 And it’s Jupiter, cos that’s my ruling planet. 😛

    @sahabat88:
    Thanks!

  17. April 8, 2008 8:41 PM

    Yeah, it’s just the initial craze. Why go for a dupid burger anyways…I really like their Chief Happiness Officer though.

  18. April 10, 2008 8:38 AM

    Vandhucha Madras la??? Awesome! I remember when it opened in Bombay, semma hype! I was in sixth or seventh and going to McD was like going to some 5 star dinner. It was reserved for special occasions. And during 11th and 12th McD was twice a week affair. Now both McD and 5 star have lost their “status symbol”!

    Good for Madras!

Leave a Reply

