Skip to content

Some Poetry, Lots Of Fun

March 25, 2008

Been meaning to blog about what an awesome day Friday was, but you know me. 😛 So early Friday morning, I left home for The Second Coming at Mocha. I’d never been there before and my cousin’s always all Mocha-is-fantastic, so I was hyper at finally getting to check it out. Nice ambience and all that, but frankly, I didn’t fall in love with it. May be I should give it a chance on a day when it’s not semi-flooded w/ rain water.

Anyhoo, quite a few folks turned up for the poetry meet and we started 1030-ish after ordering ourselves coffee et al. As anticipated, I discovered two new poets – Robert Palahnuik (Courtesy: Anand) and Eugenio Montejo (Courtesy: Sharanya) and a Chinese one I can’t remember the name of. Yet to check out more of their work. I was especially impressed w/ Chenthil’s verses [Tamizh & English] and translations – They were simple, yet their essence was amazing. 😀 Some others that I enjoyed – CC’s translation of Nakulan, Shills’ impromptu Me, Myself & I, ChennaiRamblings’ Loving And Hating, Sharanya’s Dura Mater and Niva’s 23 Dec., 2007. I took with me this and Pablo Neruda’s The Saddest Poem.

All that said, the coffee at Mocha IS kickass. More so, cos it didn’t figure in the bill and I didn’t have to pay for it. 😛 Which brings us to the rest of the day – which consisted of bouncing on Guna’s large, soft couches, a super-soothing massage in one of those BIG ergonomic chairs, lunch at Casa Piccola and a pair of red earphone muffs – All courtesy ChennaiRamblings! Much fun, Yay! 😀

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2008 3:20 PM

    Ouch!
    The name, puhlease, re-write it using my screen name, I am not sure I can stand the hoard of screaming fans who will know the real me otherwise 😀
    And you make me sound like a mother hen 🙂

  2. March 25, 2008 3:34 PM

    @CR:
    Heh, done! Only, when you read it out loud, it sounds ultra-weird. 😛 Forgot for a bit how compulsive you are about being anon. 😀

  3. March 25, 2008 6:44 PM

    Ah, Robert Palahnuik. he’s written some brilliant pieces

  4. March 25, 2008 7:26 PM

    Thanks
    Well, you know the reason I am compulsive about the anon part 😀
    Too many back stories of mine walking around on 2 legs and getting mauled in my blog 😀
    That said, Pablo Neruda is one of my favourite poets, am not sure if I told this the other day. Do you have a copy of his best stuff?

  5. March 25, 2008 7:35 PM

    @PM:
    Indeed – I read a few today that I loved! 🙂

    @CR:
    Nah, you didn’t. And I haven’t yet been able to get my hands on a hard-copy of Neruda’s works. I do have a PDF though. Emailed you. 🙂

  6. Sagaro permalink
    March 25, 2008 9:25 PM

    WTF? What about the greatest Japanese poem of all times that was translated by the most creative genius of all times at the poets meet? How come you didn’t mention that?

  7. March 26, 2008 7:21 PM

    @Gapp:
    Japanese poem…Oh, that one. I thought you’d want to gloat bout that yourself first, no? 😛

  8. March 26, 2008 11:42 PM

    hey su! thanks for that! didn’t see that coming..

    you were a lucky bug that day! i ended up spending a good 120 for maggi noodles! 😛

    @gapp
    you did not translate the poem id you?

Leave a Reply

