Skip to content

Jodhaa-Akbar

February 16, 2008

Watched last night. Amidst boring max audience who wouldn’t go crazy over Hrithik. Hmpf.

It’s a pretty simple film with a linear story line and subtle characters [something I liked]. BUT, it’s a visual treat paradise in terms of the brilliant colours and extravagance of Rajasthan – stunning locales and attire – and Hrithik haaaaaaaawwwwtness! The man kills me. Apart from which, I loved the dialogues which were very heavily influenced by Urdu. What a language that is! It’s one of those things I get immense pleasure from listening to. The depth of each word and phrase is beyond compare. But that also means that general junta who know passable Hindi and nothing else, won’t get most of the exchanges. 😛

The film moves at a luxuriant pace and if you aren’t falling head-over-heels in love with Hrithik (or Aishwarya, if you please), time might stretch a wee bit for you.

Edit: After mulling over it a couple of days, I realize I totally ❤ some sequences from the film! But words don’t do those justice! 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Murali Krishnan permalink
    February 16, 2008 7:21 AM

    I so badly wanted to see the movie until you said it’s mostly in Urdu and not normal Hindi. DAMN!

    Btw, you uare familiar with urdu as well eh?

  2. February 16, 2008 5:42 PM

    @MKT:
    What’s your incentive to watch the movie? 😛

    And I’m only slightly used to Urdu cos I listen to a lot of Ghazals and Sufi music. That and a few period films! 🙂

  3. February 16, 2008 8:53 PM

    Ever since I studied Videography in college I know how Terribly painfully horribly hard it is to make a short film even….and even that looks like a piece of rejected pigeon poop after its done. I stopped criticizing movies since then. However JA has a Troy inspired climax I must say. The scale at which this movie has been taken and (oh)(my!)(gawd!!) Hrithik!!!!!!!!! I would watch the movie just to see him in that scene where he does the sword practice (die!die!die!)(swoons)

  4. Vandhana permalink
    February 16, 2008 10:38 PM

    Ive mastered hindi so now I lay my concentration on urdu!
    wat say you?! 😀

  5. February 16, 2008 11:07 PM

    must-watch-movie-need-interpreter-need-help-can-you? 😀 😛

  6. February 17, 2008 6:59 AM

    @Vaish:
    FINALLY someone who’s already seen it and won’t kick me! 😛 I’m still going OHMYGOD Hrithik! And I’ve been telling everyone who’ll listen (that’s everyone) about the sword practice – Whattey! 😀

    @Van:
    Mastered Hindi. Ah. We shall discuss this in private. 😛 [Vi has to know this!]

    @Kar:
    Yes! Why will I throw away a chance to watch Hrithik again? [You can buy tickets! 😛 ]

  7. adithya permalink
    February 17, 2008 4:26 PM

    Well personally… i do agree with all the coloor being broght out and the “oomph” factore of Hrithik and AIshwariya.. though i do agree with most of your review.. dont you think the war sequences etc were quite bad.. i mean the extras there had no clue what htey were doing…. again i do agree to the review it is a good movie with a few drawbacks 🙂

  8. February 17, 2008 5:13 PM

    @Adithya:
    Firstly, the movie is a love story. The war and political agenda etc. are the background. Which is why I didn’t bother mentioning the war sequences. Which were ridiculous anyway, to agree w/ you.

    Again, apart from all that I’ve mentioned, I think it’s just another movie. 🙂

  9. February 17, 2008 8:11 PM

    Ah! Urdu! 😀

  10. Murali Krishnan permalink
    February 18, 2008 12:01 AM

    I am completely jobless. You must be knowing this better than anyone else here.

  11. February 27, 2008 7:03 PM

    Azeem-o-shaan sheshansa song was one of the best visual treat…awesome co-ordination…

  12. March 17, 2008 8:34 AM

    Haven’t seen it yet, but it looks good. Hrithik’s energetic intensity, Aishwarya’s gracefulness and Rajasthan’s glorious color should make for a very nice combo.

Leave a Reply

