Skip to content

Jigsaw Depressions

December 18, 2007

The family gave me a 1500-piece jigsaw of a pan view around St.Peter’s Basilica for birthday. Compared to Rafaello’s ‘School of Athens’, this is a lot harder simply because it predominantly has ONLY shades of blue and violet – from lightest to darkest, the whole freaking spectrum. And it’s incredibly detailed. Minuscule. Making the border alone took me about 5 hours. Separating about 150 pieces from 1500 is no mean feat. 😐 Putting them together is relatively easier. Relatively.

Anyway, when doing stuff like xwords, jigsaw, sudoku et al, I tend to get emotionally carried away by the whole activity. I actually have minute depressions, temper tantrums and flee-or-I-will-raze-you-to-the-ground moods. 😛 In case of huge jigsaws, I sit for HOURS at a stretch just sifting through the pieces, squinting at them, separating them by common-ness. And I HATE to be disturbed. It’s no different now. And since every damn piece looks the same, I will pray for the last remaining ebbs of sanity to remain. 🙄

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2007 5:59 AM

    Ah, I agree. The basilica is tougher than school of Athens, which btw is located inside the Vatican Museum. IMHO, it beats the sistine chapel hands down

  2. December 19, 2007 9:44 AM

    Er, where are you sleeping if that’s your bed?! 😛

  3. December 19, 2007 9:56 AM

    @abhi:
    I’ve seen neither monuments in question, so can’t say. You be shtud Euro-tripper 😛

    and you should already know about the xword bit! 😛

    @kar:
    er, either i’m extremely dense or you are. which part of my dining table looks like my bed? :-/

  4. December 19, 2007 11:29 AM

    1500!! you must be mad!! And I added you to my blogroll.. 🙂

  5. December 20, 2007 12:07 AM

    @suraksha

    😀 ok, so where do you guys eat?

  6. December 20, 2007 12:12 AM

    @qE (the name’s just too long):
    You may call me slightly eccentric, but not mad. 😛

    @kar:
    on the floor. meh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

