Skip to content

DeepWoods ’07

December 6, 2007

Radzuki emailed me last night asking if I wanted to go DeepWoods, MCC’s CultFest today. Me, in all my happy joblessness, obviously said okay. ๐Ÿ˜› But then, Adit couldn’t come cos of some AIESEC thingum and we had to scrounge around for a third team-mate. Sid, our usual sub, was busy with AIESEC too. Finally, after much coordination, Bharath said he’d go with us.

Took a T51 this morning and dragged myself all the way to Tambaram. The whole foul ride took me about an hour and a half! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Trust me when I tell you that the only thing that can brutally assault all six senses is a bad bus ride. As I was walking to the depot, a T51 drew up and I hurriedly got on, not giving a thought to the crowd inside the bus. For a few minutes, things were okay. And THEN. A whole horde of people got on to the bus. Two aggressive old women pushed passed me muttering dark curses. Before I knew it, multitudes of people were pressing against me on all sides and I felt I was going to crack a rib, for sure. Of course, you have to be ultra-privileged to be forced to hear conversations about rotten fish in the process. ๐Ÿ˜

Somehow, I survived the ride and got off at MCC, where I met Jan and Rads. The crowd was enormous and we even spotted a few people we knew. A minute into the campus and we realized that the management at MCC wasn’t initiated to the concept of roads and concrete. And the rain didn’t help. Well, okay, they did have tarred lanes inside…but by the time we got to those, we already had itchy, slushy, brown feet. ๐Ÿ˜› They even fleeced all of us by demanding we pay 100 bucks per person as entry fee. AND they confiscate the participant IDs when you leave campus, making sure you can’t sneak in the next day. Hmpf. Whattey. ๐Ÿ˜

The campus is really nice, though. The slightly dilapidated buildings, unkempt trees lining the road and the slight drizzle made for super ambience. Which was again spoiled as we came out and witnessed a garish display of over-made-up girls and pseudo-shtud guys. ๐Ÿ˜›

Dumb-C went okay. We did super-good till we came to the part where Rads mimed Strange Obsession. We didn’t get obsession. It’s apparently a book by Shobhaa De and Rads almost killed me for not getting it. But hey, I last read Shobhaa De when I was 16 or something and now that I totally hate her, I don’t bother keeping tabs on her writing. ๐Ÿ˜› Result of which, we lost. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Worsht part was, we call up Adit after the event and tell her this and she goes, “Oh yeah, Easy. I know that book. I’ve read it.”. Rads glares at me. I smile beatifically. ๐Ÿ˜›

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2007 10:00 PM

    ah…I’m coming there tomorrow and saturday! ๐Ÿ˜€ C ya there…

  2. December 6, 2007 10:05 PM

    @kar:
    are you? am not gonna be there – event got done today + too much to travel to just come for kicks + other plans. ๐Ÿ˜€ am sure you’ll have fun though! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. December 7, 2007 3:21 PM

    tch tch
    you should have just taken 21 G – deluxe AC bus ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. December 7, 2007 6:02 PM

    hiii ,I found you in my friendโ€™s blog roll โ€ฆ you have a wonderful blog with a cool design.. i have added you to my list of favoritesโ€ฆ please reciprocate by linking me backโ€ฆ have a great dayโ€ฆ keep bloggingโ€ฆ

  5. December 7, 2007 8:26 PM

    @N:
    yeah, right! for how late I was, T51 e too much ๐Ÿ˜›

    @swami:
    thanks!

  6. December 9, 2007 8:05 PM

    hey … so u finally made it to one of the loveliest campuses …

    missing it so much … the campus had tons of place to walk around all day and i remember going to banned areas in the grounds and finding bones all over … freaked !!!

    and there is a lake inside … all though technically it cant be called a lake its a prohibited heaven for mcc ians …

  7. December 9, 2007 11:13 PM

    @TUD:
    i swear! i LOVE the campus ๐Ÿ˜€ ooh, and i saw the lake while roaming the place ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. December 10, 2007 8:31 PM

    u mean the brown colored lake right ? how did u guys go in so far ? everytime we went there we was caught by the security and dragged out …

  9. December 10, 2007 8:36 PM

    @TUD:
    yep, that one. i’ll admit it. we totally got lost and somehow managed to find our way back. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ dunno about the security guards, though! ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

