Skip to content

Vertigo

November 18, 2007

What is vertigo? Fear of falling? No, Vertigo is something other than fear of falling. It is the voice of the emptiness below us which tempts and lures us, it is the desire to fall, against which, terrified, we defend ourselves.

– The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Milan Kundera

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2007 12:13 AM

    http://culminations.blogspot.com/

    First thing that came to my mind when you said vertigo

  2. November 19, 2007 12:03 PM

    Which is why you have that lightheaded stomach pulling sensation when you look down from a height… when you think – what if I just let go?

    I’d fly before I die.

    Whatta way to go!

  3. December 3, 2007 12:34 PM

    I knew it. 🙂
    This keeps running around in my head each time I look down from my apartment’s terrace.

    BTW, Suraksha, what do you think of Paulo Coehlo? 😛

  4. December 3, 2007 9:52 PM

    vaish:
    🙂 blog promos eh?

    camphor:
    Perspective is a super thing, I tell you =)

    siri:
    Paulo Coelho…slightly pretentious and ultra-confused about too many things. The only book of his I liked was Eleven Minutes. No, NOT the much acclaimed The Alchemist. 😛

  5. December 7, 2007 1:18 PM

    Yea, just read my first PC: The Witch of Portobello. So I ask. ANd bingo! I thought I’d get punched if I ever described PC as being Pretentious, considering the fan following he has. Good to know I’m not alone. If one doesn’t doze off, one can almost see the careful arrangement of details. The Exotica, The mystique, blah blah!

    I’m getting to Karenin’s smile only now… Sigh!

  6. December 7, 2007 8:27 PM

    @siri:
    lmao. Read Eleven Minutes, you’ll start liking him a little better. but that’s how far it goes. 😛 and ooh, finish Unbearable… asap 😀

Leave a Reply

