Skip to content

Italian Lessons

October 27, 2007

While practising Italian conversations with mum:

Instructor: You will now have a conversation with a lady. She will invite you to lunch suggesting various times. You must always contradict her and suggest an hour later than she did.
Conversation Starts…A Man repeats what we’re supposed to have said after a pause.
Lady: Vorrebbe pranzare con me a l’una? Would you like to lunch with me at one o’ clock?
Man:
Non…alles due. No…at two o’ clock.
Lady: Non alles due, per favore. Alle quattro, d’accordo? Not at two o’ clock, please. At four, okay?
Man: Le quattro non va bene. Alle cinque! Four is not fine. At five!
Mum: Ivanga ellam saapta maadhiri dhaan!
Me: *Pause Winamp* Lmao! 😆

Besides all the kookiness, Italian lessions are molto bene! I do an hour of spoken and conversational Italian everyday and I’m hooked to it like never before! 😀

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2007 1:26 PM

    LOL… I heard from a very reliable source (Russell Peters :D) that Italian is more of a gesture-ish language…?

  2. October 28, 2007 1:48 PM

    @sirpy:
    uh, they DO speak a lot w/ their body, but I assure you, speech is VERY necessary. 😛

  3. pdilip permalink
    October 28, 2007 8:25 PM

    Italiano ?? Thaangala….

  4. October 29, 2007 9:31 AM

    @pd:
    what thaangala?! 😮

  5. October 29, 2007 11:50 AM

    Sirpy:

    It is. I learnt quite a few gestures. Will teach you once I m back on campus. 🙂

  6. October 30, 2007 7:50 PM

    Reminds me of spanish lessons with amma 🙂

  7. November 2, 2007 5:05 PM

    too coool 🙂

  8. November 3, 2007 3:39 PM

    Italian? Splendido!

    Auguri! 😀

  9. November 3, 2007 9:37 PM

    @N:
    yay! it’s brill! you should learn too! 🙂

    @camphor:
    grazie mille! 😀

  10. Sagaro permalink
    November 3, 2007 10:40 PM

    Auguri yavathu jangary yavadhu… cha… should restart German lessons…

  11. November 4, 2007 1:54 PM

    Mayb I gotta restart my French classes..

  12. November 5, 2007 4:44 PM

    The only Italian I know for sure I heard was from Joey (and Rachel) swearing at Chandler on F.R.I.E.N.D.S and it definitely came with a hand gesture 😀 .

Leave a Reply

