Skip to content

You’re Trying To Be Clever

October 25, 2007

Had my DSA pracs yesterday. Everything generally seemed to be perfect and I finished the whole thing in about twenty minutes. So while I’m calling my in-charge to verify my o/p, the external notices and calls me for viva. He’s asking a few random questions, all flicked from Tenenbaum and is pretending to be all knowledgeable. And then,

Ext: Okay, so what is shorting?
Me: *Thinking I heard him wrong* What, sir? I didn’t get that.
Ext: What is shorting? It’s a very basic concept of DS ma.
Me: *WTF* Shorting? Er…
Ext: *Shocked* You don’t know shorting?
Me: *Now very bewildered* Umm…no, sir. I haven’t even heard of the concept.
Big mistake.
Ext: What?! *Laughs in what he hopes is a demeaning manner* When you came in, ma’am told me you were topper and I was expecting lots from you. How much you got in CATs?
Me: *Dirty max look to my in-charge* 39, 40.
Ext: Now you’re telling me you don’t even know shorting. Che, che. Pathetic state. I’m not going to give you any marks for viva.
Me: *Thought bubble* Like I care. Something going crazy here.
Ext, to ma’am: Look, your topper is not even knowing shorting!
Ma’am, to me: *aghast* What ma, don’t you know SORTING?
Me: *Going WTFWTFWTF, trying to not lmao* Oh, sorting. Sorting I know ma’am. Didn’t understand what shorting was.
Ext: *Ego damaged* Oh, so now you’re shifting the table. The fault is lying with my english knowledge is it?! You are trying to be very clever, but I will not allow you!
Me: *Fixed Smile*

Ext, majorly pissed off, proceeds to then extend my viva to the next twenty minutes. While I’m thinking what I did to deserve 45 minutes of brainless torture.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sagaro permalink
    October 25, 2007 8:11 AM

    Ithalam romba over… if you couldn’t make out that shorting meant sorting in a DSA exam setup… you deserve to fail… low iq timbo.

  2. October 25, 2007 11:35 AM

    see…i told you! Smiling at the external won’t work all the time…

  3. October 25, 2007 3:25 PM

    Wat is this maa??You should have said that shorting is when the two ends of a resistor are connected together resulting in the Potential diff between these ends being 0. That would hav though the ext a lesson !

  4. October 26, 2007 11:04 AM

    @gapp:
    sheddup. he keeps saying shorting and shirting and then expects me to get it in my zomboid state. 😛 and apparently, he gave me 9/10. hee.

    @kar:
    enough already! i’m naturally a happy being, so there! 😛

    @abhi:
    mokkai thangale!

  5. Sagaro permalink
    October 26, 2007 12:47 PM

    Only a dumb chicklet like you can’t get shorting meant sorting… I mean even Mellu boy, whose career high was when he scored 1/2 on a 40, would have got that.

    9/10 interesting. But what for? Your showbiz?

  6. October 26, 2007 12:49 PM

    @gapp:
    dumb chicklet. interesting phrase.

    and 9/10, i’ve no idea what for.

Leave a Reply

