Skip to content

Hues

September 19, 2007

Update: Anantha sent me photos of yesterday’s rainbow. Photo courtesy: Arvind Ram

Last evening, I was in the bus, lying back, looking at the sky, when suddenly, the most beautiful, most vivid rainbow I’ve ever seen appeared. I wanted to turn around and tell people, Look out of the window. But then I figured, if they were meant to see it, they would. I smiled, thinking of other people to whom the rainbow afforded respite. And then without warning, the sun started breaking out of the clouds and I watched the rainbow grow fainter, until it disappeared.

I was walking home, thinking of this, when I noticed everything around me was suffused with a warm golden light. Reflexively, I hurried home and up to my terrace with my camera. It was an amazing sight. I saw the most glorious sunset of my life, complete with rainbow and colours you wouldn’t believe possible unless you see them. And the sky! I’ve never seen a sky or sunset so breathtaking in Chennai, even at Elliot’s. 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2007 8:21 PM

    Someone I know (probably you know too) clicked pics and emailed. Will send it over to you 🙂

  2. September 19, 2007 8:22 PM

    I am talking about the rainbow.

  3. September 19, 2007 8:29 PM

    i was eating bhel puri and when i came outta the shop it was all golden, like some movie. By the time i could run home and reach the terrace it was gone 😦

  4. September 19, 2007 8:30 PM

    i caught the rainbow today however, while i was walking on saidapet bridge 🙂

  5. September 19, 2007 9:09 PM

    @anantha:
    lovely pictures! 🙂 thanks a mil!

    @planemad:
    the golden was so brill! 🙂 and there was rainbow again today? lucky you!

  6. September 20, 2007 12:19 AM

    The Rainbow last evening was awesome. Could easily distinguish the colours even with my silly eye-sight. It was lovely to be sipping cool lemon juice while watching the Rainbow. Didn’t see the rainbow the last evening. Noticed the orangish golden though, Wonderful. To steal your word(s).. Love!! 😛

  7. kayatja permalink
    September 20, 2007 1:18 AM

    I am really unlucky. The pic in the post does not display for me. Looks like it points to a gmail account 😦

  8. September 20, 2007 6:32 AM

    @kar:
    Love, I swear! and I was listening to this completely lilting salsa song while watching rainbow. the things that music + rainbow can do, sigh! 🙂

    @kayatja:
    ah, realized that. fixed now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

