Skip to content

Being Alone…

August 10, 2007

…in every sense is a fantastic thing. I mean, it mostly is. Of course, I get into bouts of 3-minute-chronic-depression wondering why I’m filling in pages and pages of Word documents, when that content should ideally be poured to sympathetic ears over three-hour conversations. I have three-hour conversations with very few people and even then, it’s mostly about them or neutral things.

Coming back to the fantastic bit. Being alone in empty physical spaces at least few hours a day is a biological need that I have. If you put me in places with people in them all through the day, at the end of the week, I’m either depressed or extremely pissed off. No, I’m not a misanthrope. Just can’t handle people all the time. Funnily enough, I’ve been called a people-person/awesome social person on several occasions. Well, okay, I am nice to everyone, irrespective of my mood. I don’t know if that is being a hypocrite or pseud, as is the lingo. I don’t believe in passing on unpleasantness unless you absolutely have to and ergo, don’t.

I’ve had fabulous times with close friends and family, but few of the best times I’ve spent are those I’ve spent alone. Wee-hour walks with the I-Pod on the dark, lamp-lined road. At 3 am, sipping black coffee, looking at the rain, tripping on Pink Floyd and typing. And typing and thinking. Getting lost in thoughts, without worrying if the other person is saying something important. No d’oh moments. No “Are you even listening to me?”. And there is that sense of time stretching on forever. Warm afternoons alone at home – watching films undisturbed, sitting with my legs up on the table and reading for hours. It’s the best thing in the world. Trust me.

Having said all that, I do love people and I do love company. The people make it, the people make me. Interesting conversation and different perspectives and Nothing Else Matters.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 4:27 PM

    Somehow you went back in time and posted this before I posted mine, didn’t you?

Leave a Reply

