Skip to content

AIESEC

March 1, 2007

I had my AIESEC induction on Saturday. AIESEC, for the uninitiated, is the world’s largest student-run youth organization. I’m not going to launch into a discourse about it now, if you’re interested, check their website out! AIESEC has this recruitment process which involves attending a GD, a business simulation (very funny!) and if you pass those, a PI. After all of this, you finally get to know if you’re IN or not. Phew. This time, apparently, they recruited 29 people from over 250 applicants.

At my PI,

Recruiter: If you’re mum would describe you in one word, what would it be?
Me: Erm…erm…uh…temperamental. (Don’t ask me why I said that.)
R: Cool, let’s call your mum and ask her shall we?
Me: Huh? Uh…sure. *Ringing my mum*

Thankfully, she didn’t pick her phone. Later, my mum said that she would’ve described me as kind and impatient. Talk about communication gaps. 😛

R: See, Suraksha, we’ve been interviewing people from the 10 in the morning and we’re visibly tired. So what we’d like you to do is entertain us. Anyway you want – sing, dance, tell us a joke, anything.
Me: Would you like to request a song? *Headdesk – Cannot believe I said that!*

I also got these questions flung at me: Why doesn’t Tarzan have a beard? Why are manholes round in shape? Who is your best friend, describe him/her and also tell us why you two are different? The look on my face was this.

Yeniway, after all that, for some unfathomable reason, they recruited me. Yay! And the induction was super!

At the induction, attendance call after lunch:

President:
Sam…Mithali…Nikhil…Suraksha…er…doesn’t your name mean protection? *with a big grin*
Me (amidst lots of laughter): Uh, yeah, correct. *Blah!*

Gapp has very kindly chronicled it too. 😐 And for the record, it is NOT pronounced I Suck. *mutters*

The best part was getting to meet all these new people and the jiving! Basically, we had this whole day of presentations interspersed with jiving, ice-breakers, fun sessions, blah. At the end of the day, it was 8 hours fun-packed!

Slightly, I’d told my mum I’d come back home by 6 and landed up at 7 30. She, obviously was furious but decided to put off screwing me until next morning because Gapp was coming home for dinner that night and she didn’t want any “negative energy” floating around. Hee!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. hamsini permalink
    March 1, 2007 2:25 PM

    Oh,I have loads of friends in AIESEC. And a lot of (other) people I know call it I suck too.:P

  2. Sagaro permalink
    March 1, 2007 6:12 PM

    @Hamsini:
    Lol…

    @Su:
    See I saved u from screwings… you owe me big time… 😛

  3. March 1, 2007 7:13 PM

    @hams:
    you have friends – THAT i know! 😀 😀

    @gapp:
    what “screwings” did you save me from, anyway?? =)

  4. March 1, 2007 7:35 PM

    Who did you describe??

  5. hamsini permalink
    March 1, 2007 7:37 PM

    Who??

  6. March 1, 2007 9:03 PM

    @me:
    loose, you of course! 😀

    @hams:
    er…subi, stutie, shruti are all I can remember! 😛 i only know stutie personally though! 🙂

  7. Sagaro permalink
    March 1, 2007 9:14 PM

    @Suraksha:
    From your mom… and hey even I know Stutie…

  8. March 1, 2007 9:57 PM

    @gapp:
    aah, like that. not really, you just postponed it! i got jacked next morning! 😛

  9. Shrey permalink
    October 14, 2008 1:50 PM

    Hopefully AIESEC there is better and run well, in coimbatore the recruitment system is weird, to say the least. (Actually its the people )

  10. Shrey permalink
    October 14, 2008 1:50 PM

    gosh this post is more than a year old 😐

  11. October 14, 2008 1:57 PM

    Shrey –
    I wouldn’t know. I quit very soon. More than weird, the recruitment here was damn funny. I sang Don McLean’s American Pie at my PI. =)

    And yeah, this is a year old. How did you land up at this post, again?

  12. Shrey permalink
    October 14, 2008 3:48 PM

    its under ‘top posts’

    Yea i attended an interview here too, they asked me to dance (! 😡 )and in the end told me I probably didn’t have enough time for them. Anyways I’m happy they didn’t pick me, they don’t do anything all that interesting.

  13. October 14, 2008 3:51 PM

    Shrey –
    Ah. Exactly why I quit. :-/

  14. Shrey permalink
    October 14, 2008 5:26 PM

    I think none of the people running AIESEC around here (or there) know what to EXACTLY do.

    btw the post sounded really enthu and stuff :)), I guess there were no more posts on AIESEC after this

  15. October 14, 2008 5:32 PM

    Shrey –
    Er, yes. I was looking forward to it – a lot of people I knew were already there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

